World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > DIY Projects > Loudspeakers
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Loudspeakers Your DIY Speaker designs

Old 2nd May 2007, 06:53 PM

Default Mission 753 speaker modding

Hi all.

I am an overly enthuisiastic noob with a set of Mission 753 speakers. I have owned them for some time and have the itch to improve on the already very good sound.

So I have been researching avidly for suggestions on improving the sound but it seems that 753's just dont get modded that often. In fact the only thread I have found on Mission upgrades has been here.

Here is my state of play so far.
  • I have mapped out the crossover, including inductor values
  • I replaced the larger lytics in the crossover with nichicon KZ series
  • I have a polypropline capacitor on order to replace the tweeter corssover cap
  • I have applied "no more nails" to the baskets to reduce colouration.
  • I have removed the metal grill from the tweeter and installed a foam rubber ring in its place

The crossover looks like this

The inductors interest me, I am considering replacing the mid and bass filters with heavier guage air core. Probably home rolled, though I am open to suggestion? The current ones are ferrite cored, guage wise they look around the .7mm region. I have read that ferrite can create distortion?

I am open to the suggestion of replacing the tweeters inductor as well, though with a resistor in the signal line, would increasing the guage (ie lower dcr) make any sense?

What are the thoughts of those that have compared air core to ferrite?