World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > DIY Projects > Loudspeakers
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Loudspeakers Your DIY Speaker designs

Old 9th August 2006, 08:14 AM

Default James' Quasars

Hello James
I have been meaning to post about your Quasars for ages, but have held off because I don't want to tread on any toes. I also thought that sooner or later someone else would ask the question, but as far as I know, no-one has. I see you have posted a picture to the gallery, and this has finally prodded me into action.
To get to the point, I would love to build a pair of speakers like your Quasars.
My reasons for hesitating so long before posting are:
1. I have no knowledge or experience of speaker design or development, so I would be entirely dependent on your assistance/advice. I would hate to impose on your generosity, so if you have too much on your plate please say so and I'll drop the idea :-)
2. You have put a lot of effort into the development, and for all I know you may have plans to exploit your design commercially.
3. Obviously our host Peter sells speaker kits, and I don't want to tread on his toes either.
4. I belive the original design was a collaboration with Burt Doppenburg, although he now sells a markII version which is quite different (active bass etc), but I can see that there might also be issues there.

If none of the above are issues, then what I had in mind was something along the lines of a group buy, to include any other people who are similarly smitten. I know you have already sent drawings to red-display and Andy thinks he could make the perspex enclosures.
The group buy could include the drive units, crossover components etc.

On another thread, Peter did suggest that someone should start a poll in the wish list section to gauge the interest in a design along the lines of your Quasars - that might be another way to go.