World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > The Coffee Bar
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

The Coffee Bar Drop in for a chat or say hello if you're a new member!

Old 10th August 2014, 09:29 PM

Default Hello

Good evening and hello,

I am new to the WD forum although I have been checking it out for quite some time.
I have never posted anything before on any forum or similar but this is one is always friendly and informative.
A small bit of history, I built a WAD 6550 years ago for my brother in-law and he sold it to me about four years ago, since then I have upgraded the power supply but have not gotten around to the rest yet. I sounds too good, I have had Mcintosh equipment in the past a C2200 pre and MC252 amp, both excellent but were sold when I was off work after an operation. That was when I acquired the 6550, I have never felt short changed, it is a stunning and reliable integrated amp.
I was fortunate enough a few weeks ago to borrow a WD pre3 and PSU from a good friend and have spoken to Matthew about buying one hopefully later this month, I will convert the 6550 to an amp instead of an integrated.
Anyway enough of my ramblings, thank you all for keeping this hobby and the WAD and WD's alive and kicking.
Old 11th August 2014, 07:00 AM

Default Re: Hello

Hello and welcome to the forum Paul, it is a great shame that more new members don't respond with a simple hello. I too started with a KAT 6550, moved on to a WA 88, my good friend now has the 6550 and a Pre III plus Phono III, he also like's it a lot, I hope that we (as a forum) can be of help to you in if you have any problems with your kit. BOB
Old 11th August 2014, 10:09 AM
Super Moderator

Morning Bob and welcome Paul! We know what you mean (I think ) Bob
Love 6550's, still got a couple of quads waiting to go in something sometime...