World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > World Designs > WD Other Parts and Projects
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

WD Other Parts and Projects All other WD Parts and Projects

Old 23rd October 2012, 09:29 PM

Unhappy Wheer has my blue glow gone

I have been using my scratch built WD88 for about 8 months, tonight noticed that that the blue glow is gone from 2 of the KT88's. What does this mean, are my beloved 2001 Svetlana's about to die?
Old 24th October 2012, 09:12 AM
Super Moderator

Default Re: Wheer has my blue glow gone

I doubt it, just a general ageing process.
The thing to watch out for is if the gettering ( the silvery internal bit) starts to change to brown or transparent, the valve is getting near the end of life. If however the gettering changes to white it indicates that air has leaked into the valve so it should be changed immediately.

John
Old 24th October 2012, 07:48 PM

John thanks, it don't look good. One is quite dark and another clearish, although ironically that one still has the blue glow. The moral to the story may be beware an ebay deal that seems too good to be true, it probably is!

Can anyone suggest which of the many KT88's out there I should go for? I have seen many, mostly chinese and have doubts about the quality.
Old 24th October 2012, 08:36 PM

Can anyone suggest which of the many KT88's out there I should go for? I have seen many, mostly chinese and have doubts about the quality.
[/quote]

im shure there are lots out there , ive had GENALEX golden lions, for about a year all good so far

dave h
Old 25th October 2012, 08:14 AM