World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > World Designs > WD Loudspeakers
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

WD Loudspeakers For discussion of World Designs Loudspeakers

Old 25th February 2016, 08:51 AM

Default Making speaker cabinets

I have decided to make a pair of wd25a speakers. I have bought the driver units so far. I found the standard tweeter on ebay. I feel I could really use some advice with this. I am a complete novice, having never built speakers before. I have recently completed a KEL84 kit.

What I need to do next is the cabinet. I don't really have the tools or space to do much woodwork. I have tentatively approached a local timber merchant, who have 19mm oak veneered MDF, and can do cutting. But if anyone has made WD25A cabinets themselves from scratch, I would appreciate some advice. What would also be great, is if there might be a crossover PCB lying around unused somewhere. I did think about getting the EX treble unit, as it is still available from Falcon, and is much cheaper than it used to be. But still quite expensive (£150 each).

Any replies greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Simon
Old 25th February 2016, 02:55 PM
Super Moderator

Default Re: Making speaker cabinets

Hi Simon,

I can't remember if there was a pre-cut cabinet kit available for this speaker. Can anyone help? Thoughts are you may be able to ask the original supplier to do a set of panels - unless someone still has some or cabs they don't need?

Otherwise I've built various speakers and the hardest part (for me) was getting really good corners. The kit designs in the 70's when this was popular suggested 3/4" or 1" square batons screwed and glued down all the panel edges to join the panels together. The corners were often not designed to be mitred (the hard part for most folk) and were butt joined with a finishing strip on the edge.