World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > WAD > WAD Problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

WAD Problems For questions and answers re older World Audio Design Projects

Old 31st January 2006, 08:59 PM

Default Kat 6550 - one odd voltage

I'm new to the electronics game but have completed the build with only one exploding capacitor - those electrolytics don't run well backwards.

All seems well sonically but electrically speaking one voltage is low - g2p (pin 3) on one ECF80 runs at 79v not 95v as specified. Its definitely the valve - swapping the valves over takes the low voltage to the other channel.

The I have questions are
- is this a duff valve?
- does it need to be replaced?
- what effect is it having on the rest of the amp electrically and sonically?

I'm reading Morgan Jones but haven't quite got to grips with it all yet!

Any help, guidance and views would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

GregS
Old 31st January 2006, 11:04 PM

Default Re: Kat 6550 - one odd voltage

Hi
Had the same experience with mine. ECF80s are notorious for variation in voltages. Just swap the valve to check the voltage follows it. If not check your soldering! I wouldn't replace it yet. Run the 6550 and decide what upgrades you want ( I swapped the original ECF80s for NOS Mullard E80CF eventually - and it was a good move.).

Jerry
Old 31st January 2006, 11:43 PM

Yes, I wouldn't worry about that voltage, NOS ones are quiet common, so you could try changing after you have got used to the amp as it stands.

If by any chance its not prior art, then the copyright is retained by me.
Old 1st February 2006, 01:00 PM

Hi All