World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > WAD > WAD Problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

WAD Problems For questions and answers re older World Audio Design Projects

Old 12th July 2020, 05:22 AM

Default WAD 300B PSE Voltage Problem

These monoblocks were my first kit project build almost 20 years ago. Clearly I am still a novice regarding electronic circuit understanding/ troubleshooting but these 300b PSE monoblocks have provided a lot of fabulous hours of enjoyment!

I have gone on to build many other audio kit projects, so I believe I'm appropriately safety conscious but I need assistance with troubleshooting . . .

I started experiencing some intermittent noise (scratchy sounds) from both amps so I decided to look under the hood and measure voltages after replacing a few capacitors. I replaced C1,C5,C6,C13, & C14.

The voltage from the secondary of (one of) the power transformers is 380-0-380 where it connects to the rectifier instead of 395-0-395v. AC input is 117.5 V AC with a Variac. The corresponding voltage is 50v down at "Point B" (approx 300v instead of 350v dc). I switched out the rectifier and then output tubes from the "other" monoblock with no change. The "other" monoblock measures a slightly low B+ of 405v instead of 425v but the other voltages check out. As in the "B through E" test points included with the original documentation are spot on. . .

Is this a transformer issue or another problem likely clear to other members but obviously not to me?

Thanks for your assistance!

Mike
Anchorage, Alaska
Old 12th July 2020, 06:28 AM

Default Re: WAD 300B PSE Voltage Problem

Mike, I am not familiar with your amplifiers but scratchy sounds are usually poor connections, the most likely being the valve pins, pull and clean all valves and see if that resolves the issue, as for your voltages I am sure someone will be along to advise you. Bob
Old 12th July 2020, 07:44 AM