World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > World Designs > WD Amplifiers
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

WD Amplifiers For discusson of World Designs Amplifiers

Old 16th July 2023, 11:04 AM

Default Looking to try a Valve amp - WD KEL84 opinions with my speakers please!

Hi all,

Newbie here but not to Hifi or electronics having spent my working life in the trade.
However, now I'm getting older I'm going to downsize to an all in one eventually but owe it to myself to scratch the itch I have to try a valve amp. Primarily looking at the WD KEL84 kit as a good starting point.
The real question is for those who use one how does it perform into a 4 ohm load? I use Linn Keilidh's (92dB @ 1m) and have no plans to change them but if the amp is unable to drive them at bass frequencies sufficiently I will need to look at a better kit.
I don't listen at high levels, maximum is about the 80dB level depending on mood. Preferred music is Prog and Classic Rock and a bit of Jazz. Front end is a Linn DS and TT with phono stage.

All comments welcome!
Old 16th July 2023, 11:38 AM

Default Re: Looking to try a Valve amp - WD KEL84 opinions with my speakers please!

Hi, I have used the KEL84 with Monitor Audio PL100 mK II 86dB and BBC LS3-5A, I was surprised how good it sounds, no problem with low frequencies but not quite as good with very high frequencies, not as good as my WD88 VA, any way, it should be OK with your Linns though at 92. Bob

Last edited by bob orbell; 16th July 2023 at 11:40 AM. Reason: added wording.
Old 25th July 2023, 07:26 AM

Default Re: Looking to try a Valve amp - WD KEL84 opinions with my speakers please!

Very disappointed that no response has yet been made by Bassman92, but not that surprised . Bob
Old 25th July 2023, 10:04 AM
WD Archivist

Well, you did!
Old 25th July 2023, 10:49 AM

My weak attempt at a constructive answer for Bassman's first post to the forum:

Have you seen